Blogging in a foreign language

No easy way out.

When I subscribed for this course, I realized that it was all in English. My native language is Dutch.  When I went to basic school and our equivalent of high school, we had to learn English, French and German.  Until today, many years further in time, I still am glad that we had to take these courses.  Only 20 million people or so, speak Dutch. So we have to learn other languages to get ahead in the world.  I had fair use for English and French and we had businesspartners in Germany. During my professional life I picked up a lot of the Spanish language.  Although not flawless , it has been to good use for me.

Now I live on an island in the Caribbean , where people speak Papiamento , an eclectic mixture of Portugese, African, Spanish,English and Dutch. In Curacao they write it phonetic, so every acquaintance with Spanish words is killed.   The local people think it is rude that foreigners living on the island, can not speak their language. Most of the older people speak Dutch. Half the population of Curacao lives in Holland an still they want me to learn their language.  Basic schools in Curacao only teach Papiamento though, English and Spanish are more important in this part of the world.

Leave a Reply

